Constance H. Carlson Prize


Constance H. Carlson Prize

Honoring exemplary contributions to public humanities in Maine.


Diane Magras
Director of Development
(207) 773-5051


Previous Constance Carlson Prize Honorees

Donald Soctomah


2015: Donald Soctomah, for working to preserve the language, history, culture and land base of the Passamaquoddy people in Maine.



Joe Conforti


2010: Joe Conforti, for founding the American and New England Studies Program at University of Southern Maine, for his regional history scholarship, and for his generosity and accessibility statewide.



Neil Rolde


2005: Neil Rolde, for his extraordinary contributions to the interpretation of Maine history as a historian and author and his encouragement and support of the humanities in Maine as a Representative in the State Legislature.



Karan SheldonDavid Weiss


2003Karan Sheldon and David Weiss, co-founders of Northeast Historic Film in Bucksport, for their contributions to the preservation and interpretation of New England’s historic moving-image history.


Billie Gammon


1999: Billie Gammon, for her leadership in the field of “hands-on” history through her founding of the Norlands Living History Center in Livermore Falls.



Tabitha King


1998Tabitha King, for her efforts to kindle a passion for reading and a love of ideas in Maine people of all ages.